Sick Days

I have three children, a ten year old son and two daughters, ages eight and six. And this week, we’re all sick! Symptoms include: a dry cough, runny nose, and exhaustion. It culminates in all of us being super emotional!

I’m sure most people know that, as a parent, I don’t get to take the day off when we’re sick. I get to skip out on work (I do construction with a general contractor, and being sick while doing that sucks big time!), and spend my day in a domestic fog of snotty toilet paper and haphazard blankets. I get to make meals in a haze. This morning we had peanut butter and honey sandwiches with potato chips for breakfast. Cooking was beyond my skill set. I also get to arbitrate disputes while mildly incoherent. So even though my daughter was “not nice” to my son this afternoon, they both got told to “be nice,” while mommy hid behind a cup of coffee and hoped their sweeter dispositions would win over their crankiness.

I love my kids. I love being a mom. I’m so done with flu season! We’ve run the gamut this year, with every cold and flu running amok and taking us all down. Two of the three have asthma, so I have to be extra careful about chest congestion or they can develop bronchitis or pneumonia. I also have asthma, so there’s another person to feed an expectorant to. I think they’ve missed more school (which means I’ve missed more work) this year than the last two years combined.

However, I do have to say, spending extra time cuddling sick kids is a whole lot better than sucking down saw dust or sheet rock dust with a cold. 🙂

Leave a Reply

